Custom Built Team Building and Leadership Initiative Training

Labor Day Challenge – Day 40 – Baby Shower

One more day down on my Labor Day Challenge and this journey is almost over. This weekend I had a great time, in fact, it may have been the best weekend of the past six-weeks: I attended our two baby showers.

I know what all the men out there are saying, “You went to your baby showers??” Not only did I go to my baby showers, I very much so enjoyed them! I was able to hang out with family and friends, and of course with Kristin and Sweet Baby Jane. We ate cake (I know, not very healthy of me), punch, and even had a cookie and milk bar. These ladies know how to do it right!

Baby Jane Baby Shower

Jane got soooooooo much stuff. I don’t think everyone can understand how much we have already. We could change Jane three times a day for the first 9 months and still not use all of her outfits. I know we will eventually run out of diapers, but we have nearly 2,000 by my rough estimation. We got a mattress, crib sheets, books, and so much more.

Baby Jane

Baby Jane

It is still surreal to me that Kristin and I are having a baby. I don’t know if it will ever hit me that Jane is coming, but having the showers sure helped. The nursery is put together, we have all the supplies, and even a car seat. I am prepared for her arrival, but I do not know if I am ready. I know I will be a good dad, and I know everything will be great, but it is hard for me to even fathom how much change is coming in our lives. I am excited about this change, and I know it will be for the better.

Baby Jane

Throughout my entire Labor Day Challenge I have challenged myself to be consistent, try new things, and organize my life. But this whole process is nothing compared to the challenge I am about to face. I am excited, I am prepared, and life is going to be great. I already love her with all my heart, and I look forward to meeting her soon! Being her father will be my greatest challenge, but the most rewarding one too.

2 responses

  1. Jeff Kahlden

    Did you receive Boudreaux’s Butt Paste? That is a true gift.

    October 20, 2011 at 8:24 am

  2. Belinda

    Love this post Ryan! I hope my husband can feel the same way you are one day 🙂

    October 20, 2011 at 3:41 pm

Leave a Reply

