Custom Built Team Building and Leadership Initiative Training

Labor Day Challenge – Day 35 – Ozarka Leadership Conference

This Thursday night Jerrod Murr and I traveled to the great state of Arkansas to present as keynote speakers at the Ozarka College Student Leadership Conference. It was amazing. I do not think I could emphasize enough how well this event went, and how much fun we had during the presentation.

Jerrod and I started out on our way to Melbourne, AR at about 7 p.m., considerably later than our planned departure of 5 p.m. I had been looking forward to meeting up with Murr to discuss the Labor Day Challenge, our opportunities with Experiential Adventure, and our events with Believing in a Better Way.  As discussed in the car, Murr is my third favorite person to road trip with, after Kristin and my dad. We get lost in conversations of our vision, goals and dreams. It is often hard for us to pay attention to the directions because we are so entangled in our conversations. This happened several times on the long trip through Arkansas.

If you have ever traveled in Arkansas, you know that there is only one straight, flat road in the entire state – I-40. Since we weren’t traveling to Little Rock or Memphis, we took the curvy roads from Tahlequah, OK to Fayetteville, then east-bound on 412 through Harrison all the way to Melbourne. Highway 412 is a collaboration of highways in Arkansas, and it will often travel the same route as 3,4 or even 5 other highways.

Hwy 412

It is very easy to get turned around on these curvy roads, especially in the dark of night and especially when in deep conversation. Murr and I talked so much that we more than once had to stop and make sure we were on the right path. Regardless, we made it into the beautiful town of Melbourne at about 2 a.m. and checked into our romantic bed and breakfast, the only lodging in town.

After a quick breakfast and shower, we headed to Ozarka College to meet up with Deltha Shell, the director of Student Support Services. Deltha has been a champion of our services and even had us come and speak at her Student Leadership Conference last Spring. I was fired up because I get many opportunities to facilitate groups and lead workshops, but rarely do I get the chance to be a keynote.

We presented about momentum, and how students could use their momentum to achieve their goals and enhance their vision. Despite a slow start, the presentation went extremely well, and was by far the most well-received presentation I have ever given.

During my Labor Day Challenge I wanted to expand my business with Experiential Adventure, and this was a huge step in that direction. Murr and I left inspired and uplifted about our futures, both together and separately. After presenting at this event, I am even more sure now about my future and my decision to pursue my passion.

What are you doing to pursue your passion? Is there an area of your life you would love to follow but are too scared to get there? I challenge you to start heading in that direction, it is never too late.

6 responses

  1. jerrod murr

    excellent summary of the events! I am excited about Experiential Adventure. Thank you for letting me a part in it. Moreover, The Thaistralia super trip is going to be unreal!

    October 17, 2011 at 2:32 pm

    • Thaistralia is going to be amazing!

      October 17, 2011 at 8:41 pm

  2. Pingback: Labor Day Challenge – Day 36 – NSU Homecoming « Experiential Adventure

  3. Deltha

    Great summary. The students loved your presentation. Their only complaint about the conference is that the breakouts were a downer compared to you two! Hope to have you back soon!

    October 17, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    • Thanks Deltha! I went to Ronda’s Fish presentation and loved it! What a great thing you do for your students!

      October 17, 2011 at 8:40 pm

  4. Pingback: Labor Day Challenge – Recap « Experiential Adventure

Leave a Reply

