Custom Built Team Building and Leadership Initiative Training

Labor Day Challenge – Day 24 – Swim

Welcome to Day 24 of my Labor Day Challenge! I am nearing the end of another week, and it has been packed full of Challenge activities. I am definitely ready for the weekend, especially because I am going to Glen Rose, TX to facilitate at the SWASAP Student Leadership Conference. I am pumped, but more on that throughout the weekend!

Today I am absolutely worn out, mostly because I spent most of my lunch break with a good friend, Cay Percifield, who gave me swim lessons. Swimming is one of the hardest workouts for me. I consistently fight the water and struggle for air. Usually more water ends up outside of the pool than started in the pool, therefore, I knew I needed some help.

I swam with Cay partially because I would like to become a better swimmer. I am someday going to compete in an Ironman competition. It consists of a 2.4 mile swim, 112 mile bicycle ride, and a 26.2 mile run. The area I am weakest in is swimming, and I need to learn how to smoothly glide across the water now so when I am ready to train 100% I will have the tools needed to be successful. I am learning this now, even though I do not know when the right time for me to train for an Ironman will be (It is certainly not now).

I strapped on the skin-tight shorts and goggles (you have to look the part) and headed to the pool. He taught me proper freestyle technique, proper breathing technique, and even how to do the flip turn at the end of a lap! I had a hard time forcing my head straight to the side when catching a breath, and felt unnatural when flipping and kicking my feet. Towards the end, however, I felt much better about my swimming stroke, my breathing and even my flip.

Even though I went today to become a better swimmer, the real reason I swam was because I love spending time with people who are passionate. Cay swam competitively in his youth, was an all-stater in high school, and excels as an athlete. I love spending time with someone who is passionate about what they are doing, they are the best people to learn from. Cay was an excellent teacher because he was excited to teach me new practices and techniques. He really did care about how I was doing and wanted me to do well. I hope this exudes from me when I am facilitating, working with students or speaking to a group. I hope people are able to recognize my passion and want to learn from me. I certainly learned that today from Cay, and that is what my Labor Day Challenge is all about.

One response

  1. Pingback: Labor Day Challenge – Recap « Experiential Adventure

Leave a Reply

