Custom Built Team Building and Leadership Initiative Training

Labor Day Challenge – Day 22 – Get Organized

Welcome back. I am over the hump and past the halfway point of my Labor Day Challenge. I, of course, can not achieve any of this without your support, so keep it coming! I also can not do this challenge without becoming organized.

I have been known to have the organizational structure of anarchy, and every time I am asked my greatest weakness in an interview, I immediately think of my lack of organizational skills. (I of course, never admit to it, I cop-out and say something like…”I am too passionate” or “I just work too hard!”) Although I am an excellent interviewer, the fact remains that I am poor at staying on schedule, I lose things often, and I forget things when I go places. Not once, but twice last month I stayed at my parent’s house, and brought undies, undershirt and socks and forgot slacks and a dress shirt. Twice! I have put in hard work (made my student workers work hard) and prepared for a school visit, only to show up and have left everything in the office. I have been known to double-book, forget dates, and show up late. This all stems from the poor execution of organizing my life.

When I was a kid, I loved being organized. Actually, I had by far a cleaner room than my sisters, and would even sort out my drawers and closet. I would lay in the floor and rearrange my baseball cards by different orders, only to find myself sorting them differently later. Some of that still remains with me today, and my closet is a good example. I place my shirts in the same direction on the same type of hanger, organized by type of shirt and even by color. I tell you all of this to let you know that I have a sense of organization, just not a grasp of it.

Therefore, I have started organizing my life. I went through our house and sorted everything when we had our garage sale. I cleaned my car out today and moved stuff where it needed to be. I even organized the attic and the garage. Outside of my home, I started using my calendar, making sure to mark events immediately and creating a daily to-do list. Whenever I get a new task or tell someone I am going to do something, I write it down and mark it off by the end of the day. I have been creating a weekly to-do list as well, and trying to do my hardest task at the first each day knowing it will give me the boost needed to finish the rest of the list.

I don’t particularly enjoy this challenge, it is something I struggle with daily. However, I know that if I do not start getting organized now, I will never achieve my dreams, and that is what my Labor Day Challenge is all about.

One response

  1. Pingback: Labor Day Challenge – Recap « Experiential Adventure

Leave a Reply

