Custom Built Team Building and Leadership Initiative Training

Labor Day Challenge – Day 20 – Learn from the Best

Happy Sunday to you! I hope it is wonderful, I know mine has been…I am 20 days into my Labor Day Challenge, and I used today as it was intended…as a day of rest. I even took a nap this afternoon. I love naps, and I think I may write a book someday about the importance of naps. It is one of the things I mastered in college, as a necessary tool to survive the late nights (of studying, of course!). However, I also used today as an opportunity to try and contact professionals who are already successful in the fields I would like to pursue.

I think it is unbelievably important for everyone to try and learn from people who are already successful in the areas of your life you would like to improve. Jack Canfield hits on this subject in “The Success Principles,” where he tells his readers to find the most successful person you know, and try to learn as much as you can from them. He tells a story about a hairdresser who was prepping him for a TV interview. In true consultant style, he asks the lady what her dreams and aspirations were, and she told him she would one day love to own her own studio. He asked her why she hadn’t, and she hadn’t tried anything because she didn’t know how to open her business or even how to start. His advice was to go to the most successful salon owner she could find, and offer to take her to lunch to see how she had become successful as a business owner. He said if that owner didn’t want to go to lunch, go to someone else, and then someone else until you found someone who was willing to talk. His bet, as is mine, was that mostly everyone is willing to talk about the things they are passionate about, and are willing to talk about the things that were necessary for them to become successful. I took this advice to heart and emailed or called several people who I admire and would love to emulate. So far, I have had no reply, but I am going to keep asking until someone lets me in and gives me some advice. (I also asked very prestigious, busy people, so I knew it was going to be slow going.)

I want to be an experiential learning expert, so I contacted Karl Rohnke, a man synonymous with experiential education. He helped found Project Adventure, the godfather of experiential learning in the world. I have been to a PA training, and I want to go back. These people are living my dream, they just have been doing it longer and are in Boston.

I want to be a leadership expert, so I contacted John C. Maxwell, the world’s premiere expert on leadership.

I want to be successful, so I contacted Jack Canfield, the writer of over 80 New York Times Bestsellers.

I want to be more sacrificial, so I contacted Brett and McClain Baggett, people who literally have given up their belongings to follow their passion.

I want to be a consultant, so I emailed Daryl Essensa, an already proven consultant.

I want to be able to provide CEU credits for counselors, social workers and therapists, so I contacted someone already giving credits.

I encourage you to find the people you know who are successful in the areas you want to be successful in, and contact them in some way. Go to a training, attend a conference, email them, call them, send a letter, Facebook them or follow them on Twitter. You have nothing to lose by trying to learn from them, and everything to gain. I know I have yet to be successful in this endeavor, but I am going to keep trying until I get the advice I need to be successful. I hope this to be a habit I keep for the rest of my life, that is what my Labor Day Challenge is all about.

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Labor Day Challenge – Day 34 – Leadershipfreak « Experiential Adventure

  2. Pingback: Labor Day Challenge – Recap « Experiential Adventure

Leave a Reply

