Custom Built Team Building and Leadership Initiative Training

Labor Day Challenge – Day 17 – Read my Bible

Day 17! This Labor Day Challenge is flying by. I have struggled a little bit in a couple of areas this week as life has kept me busy. I am still reading consistently, still working out, and still eating healthy, for the most part. I have been really craving unhealthy foods lately, but I have fought through it and I am back on track. I have dressed for success everyday, but I have been having a hard time getting to bed before 10 p.m. every night. Last night, however, I was out sound asleep at 9:45…I felt great.

One thing I have struggled with during my Labor Day Challenge is consistently reading my Bible. Before some of the “holier-than-thou” crowd finds me and beats me with their Bible, I must admit that I have actually been trying.

I downloaded a “read the Bible in a year” app on my phone, and tried it out at first. It had me reading a chapter of Psalms, a chapter of Proverbs, and a chapter from John each day. I would read this right before bed, and I was not enjoying it…just being honest here. It wasn’t that I don’t enjoy some good old-fashioned Psalms or Proverbs, it was that breaking it up into short segments was not good for me. The moving around from book to book wasn’t cutting it for me, and I said as much to my good buddy Jerrod Murr.

Murr is my advisor and mentor in most areas of my life, and solid as a rock in his faith. Our relationship goes back to high school, when we went on one of the world’s worst double dates. We didn’t know each other well, but ended up spending most of the date with each other. We still had a good time, and now love to retell the story. In college, Murr was one of the people who challenged me to join Lambda Chi Alpha, and we led the fraternity life together. I had many reservations about joining a fraternity, but knew without a doubt that if Murr was in it, I would never have to compromise my character, because he never would. We lived on the fraternity floor together where we made up games like Shoe Ball, and where we goofed around and lived it up! For as long as I can remember, Murr has never wavered on his faith, his beliefs, his morals and his character. I have always respected and admired him for that.

One evening, when I first began thinking about starting Experiential Adventure, I called Jerrod up and asked him for advice. He challenged me to get started and even gave me my first job. He has pushed me further than I ever thought I could go, and this is only the beginning. One area he pushes me without even trying is in his walk with Christ.

This is why I called him the other day and told him I was not enjoying reading my Bible. He gave me some direction, told me which sections to read, and I have been doing much better since! Murr challenged to read my Bible everyday, and I am tankful for it. I encourage each of you to find a “Murr,” someone who pushes you without even trying, simply because their life leads such solid path.

Jerrod Murr

When I read the Bible, I have always wanted it to draw me in like “Lonesome Dove” or “Of Mice and Men.” I have never had a moment while reading where I couldn’t put the Bible down or fall asleep. I am pushing through however, and I know that this will become a habit. That is what my Labor Day Challenge is all about.

 

One response

  1. Pingback: Labor Day Challenge – Recap « Experiential Adventure

Leave a Reply

