Custom Built Team Building and Leadership Initiative Training

Labor Day Challenge – Day 15 – Read a Christian Book

Welcome back to the Labor Day Challenge! I’m updating this from my phone, so sorry if it is short.

During this challenge I have devoted 15 minutes a day to read. I wanted to read a myriad of books, from classical to modern, Christian to self help. I read Weird by Craig Groeschel, a Christian book about being more than the norm, more than the average.

I loved this book, it challenged my thinking in so many ways. He started out by describing how weird it was for him to create a Bible study for his fraternity in college. He was a member of Lambda Chi Alpha, so I could relate. He talked about how everyone gets way too busy doing way too much. He said it was weird to do less and focus on doing better in the few things you were passionate about. I could relate to that too.

That was the main thing I took away from the book. I need to find out what I am passionate about and pursue it fervently, pushing aside the things I want and focusing the things I need to do.

I am challenging myself to create a to don’t list, to eliminate some things in my life that aren’t allowing me to achieve my ultimate goal. That is what my Labor Day Challenge is all about.

3 responses

  1. Aaron Moore

    That’s an awesome challenge! I haven’t read the book, but I’ve been focusing on the same thing. More guitar practicing and less CSI:Miami.

    September 20, 2011 at 8:47 pm

  2. Pingback: Labor Day Challenge – Day – Gym « Experiential Adventure

  3. Pingback: Labor Day Challenge – Recap « Experiential Adventure

Leave a Reply

