Custom Built Team Building and Leadership Initiative Training

Labor Day Challenge – Day 14 – Spend Time With Family

Two weeks! I have been at the Labor Day Challenge for two weeks! Things are going well, and I am really enjoying the things I have been doing. A few things I have coming up…contact DC about TRiO, I am in the process of contacting professionals who inspire me in someway, I plan to check three things off my bucket list, take guitar lessons, meet up with someone about the Ph.D. and much more!

Yesterday I did something for my Labor Day Challenge that I absolutely love…I spent time with my family. I have been blessed with an amazing family all the way around. My parents and siblings are awesome, and we have had a great relationship. My mom is my confidant and advisor, my dad is my best friend and we talk everyday. My sisters challenge me and they married wonderful men, who I love. My mom’s family has been a source of constant joy and when I am with the Morrisons I love it. Kristin’s family is fun, and they truly have accepted me as their own.

Family(My immediate family)

 

Experiential Adventure(The King Family – minus Lulu and Caden)

Morrison Family(Most of the Morrison Cousins)

 This weekend, however, I hung out with the Ellers. It was Ma’s 73rd birthday, and we met with Ma and Pa, some of my aunts, uncles and cousins for a late lunch. In true Eller fashion, Kristin and I were invited at an hour or so ahead of time, and we wouldn’t have wanted to be anywhere else! Ma is the sweetest person I have ever met. Her middle name is Grace and she exudes grace and love with everything that she does. She has the ability to make you feel like the most loved person ever, and when you walk in the room you know she loves you more than anything else. (Everyone feels that way when around her) Pa is one of the funniest people I have ever met, and if there is anyone who I act like the most, it is him. I don’t just love Ma and Pa, we go on double dates with them…My aunts are all sweet and kind and have true servant hearts, which is great cause the men in my family (besides my dad) are ornery to the bone. Some people have to try to be ornery, but we have to try to not be ornery.

Ma Eller(Me and Ma Eller)

The Eller Clan(The Ellers and Grandmother)

Eller Christmas(Eller Christmas)

I will talk more about my extended family in an upcoming post, but know I could talk about my family forever. Regardless of your situation or your family relationships, I challenge you to go out of your way to spend time with the people who have known you your whole life. A few things are guaranteed, you will be taxed, you will get busy, and life will go by too fast. One day my grandparents will be gone, and it will be the hardest thing I will have dealt with in my short life. This is why I need to spend time with them when I get the chance and I am glad I did yesterday. I am not guaranteed tomorrow, but I have today…I will make the most of it. This is what my Labor Day Challenge is all about.

2 responses

  1. Leslie

    We do have a wonderful family! And I really hope to see you soon!

    September 19, 2011 at 8:38 pm

  2. Pingback: Labor Day Challenge – Recap « Experiential Adventure

Leave a Reply

