Custom Built Team Building and Leadership Initiative Training

Labor Day Challenge – Day 12 – Give

On to day 12 of my Labor Day Challenge, I am nearing two weeks, and doing well! I just finished another book, “Weird” by Craig Groeschel (I highly recommend it), I ran 8 miles this morning with the wonderful H1, and ate a healthy breakfast! Doesn’t it look delicious….

Labor Day Challenge, Experiential Adventure

(Protein Pancakes made with oats, egg whites and cottage cheese…so good)

One thing I really wanted to do during my Labor Day Challenge was give up something I assumed was important. Give up something I enjoyed, but usually got in the way of my success or goals. First, I had to decide what I needed to give up…and I decided to give up the TV in my bedroom. I have always heard that married couples shouldn’t have a TV in their bedroom, but I didn’t see it as that big of a deal. I mean, we watched it not only at night, but in the mornings as we got ready and when I came home from work in the evenings. It was usually on for the scores, constant noise, maybe even the companionship (I don’t like silence). It is amazing how little things like that can keep you from talking to your spouse, keep you from working out, keep you from praying or reading. I don’t really even know what I get out of the TV in the bedroom, except for the scores at the end of the night.

Now, I love watching TV. Actually, Kristin and I love watching TV together. It is one of our favorite activities. We enjoy watching a TV series from start to finish, and we have with LOST, Arrested Development, Scrubs, Boston Legal, Greek, and a few others. We cuddle on the couch and watch a good show for a relaxing evening with the pup. However, I knew what I needed to do. I have an addiction to TV, and I needed to give it up. We got rid of cable recently, and it has been hard at times, especially during college football season, but it has been worth it in many ways. We are saving money and we are spending way more quality time together as a family.

I got rid of the TV in the bedroom today. Cleared off the space and decided to never look back. I hope to check out my life from time to time and see what is healthy in my life and what isn’t…if it isn’t healthy I need to get rid of it, forever. This one isn’t easy…but it will be worth it in the long run, that is what my Labor Day Challenge is all about.

One response

  1. Pingback: Labor Day Challenge – Day 22 – Get Organized « Experiential Adventure

Leave a Reply

