Custom Built Team Building and Leadership Initiative Training

Labor Day Challenge – Day 8 – Dress for Success

I want to start today by thanking everyone who has read and commented on my previous blogs, specifically yesterday’s post about running. It really means so much to me when someone says I am inspiring them in some way. I am excited that this process has facilitated that in you!

I am officially done with the first week of my Labor Day Challenge. I have eaten healthy, read everyday, became more prompt, given thanks, prayed and ran. I have also stepped up my level of dress attire. This is today’s focus on the Labor Day Challenge.

I work at a very flexible job, which I love, where we are given many freedoms and liberties, including our dress attire. Officially, the University where I work has a business casual policy Monday-Thursday, and a jeans with an NSU shirt tucked in on Friday policy. When discussing the professional side of my Labor Day Challenge with my good friend Braden Gibbs, he said, “You should totally dress up better for work.” Ouch. However, this was not an insult, because I knew he was right, and he was sincere in his bluntness. To understand why he said this, I will tell you a little about him, and a little about me.

Gibbs is a sophomore in college and a member of Lambda Chi Alpha, the fraternity I advise. He is an impeccable dresser. He always is dressed slightly better than the occasion would call for, wearing a tie when it was only business casual, and a coat if it was only a tie kind of day. He says that it is important to make the right impression by dressing nice and then let your character live up to your style.

(Gibbs looking good)

I agree with him and have heard this said many different ways. “Dress for success.” “Looking good means being good.” “You are how you look, and first impressions are usually the only one you get.” Fair or unfair, we do judge people based on their appearance. Will a boss think their employee will be able to handle the responsibility of the big project if they can’t handle the responsibility of their appearance? Will the girl like the guy with bad breath, unkempt hair and smelly clothes? The answer is usually no, even though I have been guilty of the preceding grooming and wardrobe atrocities.

What am I, a farmer?

In college it was not uncommon for me to skip a day or two in between showers. I shaved rarely and wore whatever I could find that was halfway clean. I wore a hat everyday that I could so I wouldn’t have to fix my hair. This carried over to how I handled my classes, my relationships and my jobs. I only went halfway. I didn’t care too much for my appearance, my future success or what people thought of me.

(College me…dressed to depress)

I have decided to dress well everyday for my Labor Day Challenge, but specifically to work. I am going to dress to impress, groom myself well and look good. Pressed slacks and shirts, cleaned shaven and smelling good. I plan for my work to match my appearance. I plan to be more like Gibbs, more like Jack Donaghy and less like the Ryan of old.

This is what my Labor Day Challenge is all about. If you can be good, be good. But if you can be great, do not be good, be great. I will be great.

4 responses

  1. Richard Eller

    I have heard it said dress for the job you want instead of the job you have

    September 13, 2011 at 7:24 pm

  2. Pingback: Labor Day Challenge – Day 10 – Sleep « Experiential Adventure

  3. Pingback: Labor Day Challenge – Day 17 – Read my Bible « Experiential Adventure

  4. Pingback: Labor Day Challenge – Recap « Experiential Adventure

Leave a Reply

