Custom Built Team Building and Leadership Initiative Training

Labor Day Challenge – Day 5 – Give Thanks

Welcome back! I am officially five days into my Labor Day Challenge, and so far everything is going great! Yesterday, someone mentioned that 42 days was a long time to blog everyday, and people might not continue reading…well, I reminded them that it was not about them, but about me! Hopefully people continue to follow up on my progress and hopefully people are inspired to improve themselves through this process, but ultimately the Labor Day Challenge is about my self-awareness and self-improvement.

Regardless, it is day five and I have challenged myself to write a thank you note to someone everyday for six weeks. This is a fun one, because I thoroughly enjoy letting people know how I feel about them. I am a very positive person, and I like to let people know when they are doing great things, when they are working hard or looking good. I enjoy dishing out compliments and it comes very easy to me.

I want these notes to be sincere. I do not want to write the same thing in every note, and I do not want to write a note just because I have to write a note. I easily have 42 people who have impacted me, 42 people who are doing great things, or 42 people who deserve some accolades. I want these notes to be hand written and well planned out. It is easy for me to say something nice or Facebook or Tweet someone a compliment. I want to do more. I need to do more.

My good friend Matt “Porkchop” Recktenwald inspired me to add this to my Labor Day Challenge (he says I inspired him to write his note…funny how reciprocal kindness can be). He left me a note taped to my computer when I arrived on a Monday morning. On the envelope was a Post-It Note that said, “Open when you feel you are ready.” I loved it already. I opened it up and inside was a heartfelt thank you note written by his hand and in his own personal way. It literally made me tear up first thing in the morning (I’m a softy). It meant so much to me, and I will treasure it always. If I am ever having a bad day, I will reach for that note and read it again.

Porkchop was not the first person to leave me notes. My good friend Keith Badgett left me notes and pictures letting me know he cared about me. Kristin wrote me a very awesome letter that followed 1 Corinthians 13, and detailed how she loved me in every way. My Dad was the best at leaving notes. He had impeccable timing and would leave a note in my room or in my truck letting me know how much he cared about me and how proud he was of me. He has always given me a thank you note on his biggest days like the note he gave me on the day he graduated college. It meant so much and he is so self-serving.

I want to do this for people, not in a self-gratifying way, but in way that shows people how much I care about them. A way that shows people how much I appreciate their hard work or friendship or mentorship. I know I can not write a thank you note everyday for the rest of my life. Writing a note everyday for 6 weeks will be tough enough, but I hope to always acknowledge those who impact me. I hope to have the timing of my father and know when someone needs a pick-me-up. I hope to be like Porkchop and let others truly know how much I care about them, and how much they mean to me. If you do get a note, please do not feel as if you are just one of many who get one…you are getting one because I really do care about you, I really do want to say thanks.

This is what my Labor Day Challenge is all about. I challenge you to write a letter soon to someone who deserves it…I promise you they will never forget it.

4 responses

  1. Pingback: Labor Day Challenge – Day 8 – Dress Nice « Experiential Adventure

  2. Pingback: Labor Day Challenge – Day 8 – Dress for Success « Experiential Adventure

  3. Pingback: Labor Day Challenge – Day 10 – Sleep « Experiential Adventure

  4. Pingback: Labor Day Challenge – Recap « Experiential Adventure

Leave a Reply

